Think about your words

Posted: January 27, 2011 in January 2011
Tags: , , , , , ,


Story of the day: Think about your words

Words. They are needed to communicate and yet the smallest word propelled by the tongue and a voice box can either damage or encourage someone. In Our Daily Bread, AL shares:

When people greet each other, they usually say, “How are you?”

At one time in China, the typical greeting was, “Have you eaten?” In the days of poverty, asking our friends if they had eaten was to express our concern for their well-being.

Today when friends greet me, they often say, “Have you put on weight?” Whether they’re genuinely concerned for my health, or just think I should lose a few pounds, they care about me.

Everything we say, not just our greetings, reflects the concerns of our heart. Jesus said, “Those things which proceed out of the mouth come from the heart” (Matthew 15:18). He was explaining to His disciples that people could not be morally contaminated by the food they ate, but by the words spoken out of unclean hearts.

It was not strange that Jesus’ bold statements offended the Pharisees (v.12). They were great at appearing righteous on the outside, but they had no concern for the hypocrisy in their hearts. As Christ’s disciples, however, our focus should be on keeping our hearts clean so that our words will reflect genuine righteousness.

It is wise to think about the words you use throughout the day, wherever you go. What do they say about the condition of your heart?                                       [AL. Our Daily Bread: How are You? Printed In USA. (July 2002).]

Quote of the day: D. De Haan

“To rule your tongue, let Christ reign in your heart.”

Bible Verse of the Day: Matthew 15:18 (NIV)

“But the things that come out of the mouth come from the heart,”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Today as I choose my words, I pray that I stop, gather my thoughts, and proceed with speaking if it is necessary. Father, I pray that I check my heart daily and that I guard my tongue in all areas, and if it not pleasing to You, that I restrain from saying anything at all. Father, my prayer is that the words that I speak are encouraging to those around me and give You all the glory for it. I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

