February 2011

Eat Your Spinach

Story of the day:  Eat Your Spinach

 As I child, my brother and I loved to watch the cartoon, Popeye.  We loved to act out scenes from this cartoon and wanted to be just like Popeye.  We would get cans and pretend to squeeze the can of spinach, eat it, and grow these muscles just like Popeye did.  The can of spinach looked so good and went right along with what my parents had said about eating healthy.  That doesn’t mean that I liked Spinach at the time, it just looked yummy.  Now, I don’t mind eating the spinach, it is actually pretty good.

Before Popeye ate the spinach, he was just an ordinary man who had no strength against anything or anyone, but once he ate the spinach, things seemed to turn quickly, which was a benefit for helping him out.  Popeye recognized that without his spinach he wasn’t able to fight the good fight.  It was once he ate the spinach that always seemed to help him get out of his bind.

We should take a closer look at this, because we, just like Popeye, are no good without our Heavenly Father and His Word. He is our Spinach.  We can do nothing in our own strength to fight off the bad.  It’s when we recognize that we need God, that He will give us the Spiritual Muscles to make us stronger in our walk, so that when we are faced with bad, we can fight the good fight.

Quote of the day:  Pappy

“If you’d eat your spinach, you’d not be losin’ your fight!”

Bible verse of the day:  Exodus 9:16

“But indeed for this purpose I have raised you up, that I may show My Power in you, and that My name may be declared in all the earth.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I just thank You for such a blessed day.  Lord, I pray that You continue to teach me that I can do nothing without You.  You are the Strength, the Power, and the Might, all which are the Spinach, that works in my life.  I know that I need You and You long for that relationship with me everyday.  I pray for times that I start doing things in my own strength, to be able to hand it back over to You, so that we may move forward with Your Plan for my life.  Lord, I pray that I am also able to recognize that without you I will only tire quickly.  I pray that I, just like Popeye, will recognize that I need You to be my strength in all things.  I pray that the desire to serve, worship, and fellowship continues to grow within me and surfaces towards others, and especially towards You.  

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a comment