Patched Together

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Patched Together

              As a teacher, one thing that I love to do are the bulletin boards.  I search for vibrant colors of fabric to line the boards before putting my theme up.  I also love to help with the bulletin boards at church. One day as I searched through my teaching materials, I came across some scraps of fabric that I had from some of my other bulletin boards.  There wasn’t enough fabric of one color to cover an entire board, but there were enough pieces to make what would look like a quilted bulletin board.  As I continued to line the bulletin board with fabric, God began to show me, just how important these pieces of fabric were.

         God placed this in my heart, He said, “We are all a patchwork in God’s eyes, just like a quilt.”  If you have ever seen a quilt, it is stitched together (mostly by hand using two pieces of cloth and a soft interlining), and it is done in some ornamental pattern.  Each quilt represents something unique and there is a lot of meaning behind and within it.  The person that does the stitching and piecing together of the quilt does so with such care and love.  The quilt is usually a representation of it’s maker.

            As God began to bring to light the quilt, He began to show me how we are just like a quilt.  As God begins to stitch pieces of our life together, which is usually done with vibrant colors and in a fashion that represent who we are, He creates this magnificent quilt that represents our life.  We become a representation of our maker.

 Quote of the day:  Christy Povolish

“We are a patchwork in God’s eyes, just like a quilt”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 73:25

“Whom have I in Heaven but You?  And there is none upon earth that I desire besides You.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

God, You are so amazing.  Each and every day, You bring to light the things that need to be shared.  I know that I in my own strength and mind can never come up with these things.  It is You and You alone that I give all the glory to, because You alone are worthy to be praised.  I delight in the fact that everytime my flesh starts to question about what needs to written, I hear You say, “There is no need to worry about that, I will give You all the words to say because I am Your Father and what needs to be said, will be said.  I find peace knowing that You are in total control of my every move.  My prayer is for those still seeking You, may today be the day that they heed Your call.  I pray for lost souls and for the message of salvation to be shared with all. 

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

