My Daddy Hugged Me

Posted: March 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day: My Daddy Hugged Me

Good morning to all of you! I hope that you have had a blessed spring break. This week, I have taken on a project of building a shed. And though the task has been fun, there have been some very scary moments. Like for instance, putting up the roof. The angles on the roof were pretty steep and often frightening to say the least. I would look down from among the truces and say to myself, “that’s a long way down there, I sure hope I don’t fall.”

Most of us have experienced our children’s dependence on us to face their fears when they have nightmares or when it’s thundering and lightning during a storm. They’ll wake up, scream, and jump out of their bed. They will walk through the valley of their bedroom, down the valley of the hall, to the valley of your room.  They jump in your bed, because what they need is somebody to be with them.

Your hugging them doesn’t stop the rain, the thunder, or the lightning, but it changes how they face it.  They’ll fall asleep in your arms. The fear that they have alone, they no longer have, because Mama or Daddy holds them. You help them face their fears in the midst of their struggles. This is exactly what the Heavenly Father does for us when we face our own fears and insecurities. [Tony Evans. Tony Evan’s Book of Illustrations. Chicago: Moody Publishers. (2009). pg. 103.]

Quote of the day: Ulrich Zwingli

“Not to fear is the armor.”

Bible verse of the day: Isaiah: 66:13

“As a mother comforts her child, so I will comfort you; yo shall be comforted in Jerusalem.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I am so thankful that You are such a comforting Father. Your hugs go beyond my comprehension and you always give me a sense of peace no matter what fears I may face. Thank You for showing me that even in my scariest moments, You are always there. I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

