Erase the Mistake

Posted: March 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day: Erase the Mistake

There are many different types of boards in my classroom. I have state of the art Smart Boards, bulletin boards, and the good ol’ fashioned chalk boards. Each has a way of getting the message across, all the while getting rid of  mistakes that can be made on them. I found an interesting story that Dr.Tony Evans wrote about in his book of illustrations about forgiveness using the chalk board. He writes:

One of the things that I loved to do when I was in elementary school was to write on the blackboard. Whenever the teacher wanted a volunteer to write on the blackboard, I would regularly raise my hand. One of the beautiful things about the blackboard was if you made a mistake with the chalk, there was always the eraser to rid yourself of the error. Forgiveness works the same way. It is the cancellation of something. It is the deletion of an error. It is the ability to erase a mistake and start over again.

Quote of the day:  Henry Ward Beecher

“I can forgive, but I cannot forget” is only another way of saying, “I will not forgive.”  Forgiveness ought to be like a cancelled note, torn in two and burned up, so that it can never be shown against the forgiven party again.”

Bible verse of the day:  Matthew 18:35

“So my Heavenly Father also will do to you if each of you, from his heart, does not forgive his brother his trespasses.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray to always have a forgiving heart, willing to put aside what another has done, so that Your forgiveness may shine through me and to others.  I pray that if there is any unforgiving moments left in my heart to bring them to the surface so that they may be resolved.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

 

Comments
  1. Hi! I understand this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website such as yours require a lot of work?
    I’m completely new to blogging however I do write in my diary every day. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own
    experience and feelings online. Please let me know
    if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog
    owners. Thankyou!

    • Christy says:

      I don’t look at it as a lot of work, but as something that I am passionate about. When I blog, it is mostly for myself and if in the process I can help to make the difference in the life of another, then God gets all of the glory:) WordPress is where I began and it has been really great for what I do. Hope that helped at all!

Leave a Reply

