An Act of Surrender

Posted: April 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  An act of surrender (Kim’s Collections)

As I wrote yesterday about the continual revelation of God’s word, I believe that surrender is also a continual response. There may be a place and date that you remember when God spoke and you answered and surrendered to His voice. The place of surrender can be a reminder to us of a decision that we made, but we must continually engage our will to remain obedient in our act of surrender.

One day as I was seeking to understand a lack of peace I was having in an area of service, I was reading through the story in Exodus of when God told Moses that he was going to be the one to lead His chosen people out of bondage. I must admit, I have more than once thought of how awesome it would be to have God speak to me through a burning bush or writing on a wall. But thankfully God still speaks and enables us to recognize His voice and receive direction from Him still today. As I read the passage where God asked Moses, “What’s that in your hand?”, God spoke to me through this passage and told me that I already have in my hand the tool and the ability to carry out the call on my life. Moses had in his hand a rod that he used in his every day job of shepherding. He was already familiar with this rod and this rod was going to be what God used to display His miracles through Moses. God showed me that I already possessed in my hand what He was going to empower and use to bring freedom to His people. I just had to pick up my “rod” and allow God to work His power through me. Now the revelation alone is not what will bring change. It is the continual surrender to the revelation, the continual taking up of the “rod” and allowing God to work His power through it, the continual, conscience decision to see the value in the familiar.

Your “rod“ may be a talent or an ability that your have possessed for a long time and you just haven‘t seen the eternal value in it. Ask God to show you what you have in your hand that He can empower to help others walk in their freedom..

Quote of the day:  Zig Ziglar

“He climbs higest who helps another up”

Bible verse of the day:  Exodus 4:17

“And you shall take this rod in your hand, with which you shall do the signs.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray that today we will see the eternal value in the talents and abilities that we already possess. Breathe fresh life and fresh power on the familiar. Help us to see that the abilities we have are not achieved without your enabling grace. Reveal to us the “rod” and the potential we have in using this God-given “rod” to bring freedom to your chosen ones.

In Jesus’ name,

Amen

Leave a Reply

