Need Some Peace in the Midst of Chaos?

Posted: April 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Need Some Peace in the Midst of Chaos

Have you just ever had one of those weeks that seemed so chaotic that in the midst of that chaos, you wondered if you could still have peace?  Nothing seems to be going right, you are late to work, late for baseball practices, basketball practices, band practices, man even your alarm clock seems to be running a few ticks behind. Then you throw in cleaning, cooking, working with the kids and their school work, kids spending the night, kids sickness, taking kids to dentist, husband out of town, going to bed at 1:00 A.M. every night to get ready for the next day, helping with church, getting the remainder of school supplies supplied, going to the grocery store for the 3rd time, and so much more that it would take an entire e-mail to list.  It’s a wonder how I am able to keep my peace in all of these scenarios.  I realized that although I can get very busy, I still need that alone time with God. I need that time to be able to draw near to Him, worship Him, and to be filled by Him. No matter where I am, the 15 minutes before the kids get up, 10 minutes in the shower, or 20 minutes in the car, getting from point A to point B is a great place that I have with God. I usually turn my music up really loud and let the sweet words fill my soul. Sometimes, I just find myself listening to hear His still sweet voice without any noise.  My time alone with God, although short, is always very much needed.

Man, last week was a testing week for me.  I knew that because of some of the great things that were going to be happening at church and how excited I was about it.  I was ready and prepared for every distraction that I knew Satan was going to send my way, to get me to lose my peace.  I remember the very last thing that I spoke out loud was, “I will not lose my peace”.  Even down to the very last few minutes before finishing up with the remainder of church things, I had to pray to God to not let me lose my peace.  You see, anytime that you get excited about doing things for the Kingdom of God, Satan doesn’t like it and will send every distraction your way or make things seem more difficult than usual.

If you find yourself, like me, in a day or week of Chaos, turn down the noise of the outside world and turn up the sweet Words of God.  Whether it be in silence, through song, prayer, or reading of His Word, I encourage you to find that time with God and He will give you the much needed Peace even in the midst of chaos.

Quote of the day:  Joe Namath

“By the time I’m climbing back up from going down, I’m already thinking about the next play.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 Corinthians 14:15

What should I do then?  I will pray with the spirit, but I will pray with the mind also; I will sing praise with the spirit, but I will sing praise with the mind also.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I come to You right now very humbled by Your Sweet Spirit.  Although I had a chaotic week last week, Lord, our communication was always open and I was able to keep my peace through everything that was sent my way.  I pray for individuals that are going through chaotic times in their life, to remember that it shall pass and if we are constantly seeking You even when things aren’t running smoothly, then You will give us the much needed peace for our lives.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

