Keeping Your Word

Posted: April 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Keeping Your Word

Do you follow through with what you say?  Are the words that come out of your mouth just words that vanish into air once they leave your mouth?  How many of you have been in a situation where you have heard, “I will call you later, maybe we can hang out, or we should get together and work on this project, but nothing ever comes of it?”  I don’t know how many times when I was younger, that I would say these things or hear these things, knowing that I would want to do them, but never followed through with what I had said.  It wasn’t that I was purposely trying not to do those things that I had mentioned, but that I always over committed myself and found myself in situations where I would forget.

As I have gotten older and have realized the importance of keeping my word with whatever it may be, actually following through with whatever it is that I said I am going to do, I realized how important it is to follow through. I became a witness to those that I would hurt and it took God showing me these things in order to change.  The last thing I ever wanted to do is hurt someone, so I prayed to God to teach me how to follow through.  Don’t get me wrong, I know things come up and sometimes we mean well when we say things, but just call the person and be truthful about the situation and don’t leave them hanging, or better yet, don’t say things until you are certain that you can follow through.  People are more likely to be a little more understanding if you are just honest with them.

As I got to thinking about following through and the importance of it, I got to thinking about Jesus and how He endured the Cross.  What if He at the last minute decided not to die for us?  What then?   But, He did what He said He was going to do and followed through with it, because of His Love for us.  We should all live by His example of following through.  Everyday we should pick up the cross that our Savior died on and walk in His likeness in all things. Don’t let your words just be words, follow through.

Quote of the day:  Carole Mayhall

“The how of being people worth listening to is by letting our lives be filled with God himself; The why of being people worth listening to is because we are His, and He wants us to radiate Him.”

Bible verse of the day:  Isaiah 38:15

What shall I say?  He has both spoken to me, and He Himself has done it.  I shall walk carefully all my years in the bitterness of my soul.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I know that I have flaws and that I will mess up.  I pray that You continue to teach me and show me the areas of my life that need improving.  I ask that although I will never be perfect that with Your help and guidance I may continue to follow through with my words and actions.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Comments
  1. EVERTON LABROOY says:

    Wonderful example of life’s precious values
    We have been blessed with a voice to build our integrity & character
    If we don’t practice what we preach we will achieve an body emptiness.

Leave a Reply

