Sweet Faith

Posted: May 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story and Quote of the day:  Sweet Faith

This past week, I can honestly say that our family lived in an anxious ball of anticipation as we waited for word about certain events that were to come to pass in our lives. Though they didn’t quite turn out the way that we had hoped, we knew that God was in the midst of it and with complete trust in Him, he never steered us wrong. While we were playing the waiting game, my stomach turned in knots and I was very restless. But why? Though I knew my Father was in complete control of the situation, regardless of how I thought the outcome should be, He already had our steps lined out for us.  A great illustration written by Philips Brooks explains this situation in a nutshell. He writes:

What a vast proportion of our lives is spent in anxious and useless forebodings concerning the future–either our own or those of our loved ones.  Present joys, present blessings, slip by, and we miss half their sweet flavor, and all for want of faith in Him who provides for the tiniest insect in the sunbeam.  Oh, when shall we learn the sweet trust in God that our little children teach us every day by their simple faith in us?  We, who are so mutable, so loving, so forgiving?  Why can’t we, slipping our hand into His each day, walk trustingly over that day’s appointed path, thorny or flowery, crooked or straight, knowing that evening will bring us to sleep, peace, and home?

Quote of the day:  Pamela Reeve 

” Faith is resting in the fact that God has an objective in leaving me on the scene when I feel useless to Him and a burden to others.”

Bible verse of the day:  Matthew 6:34

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

You have made it clear in Your Word to not worry about my life.  I trust in You to provide all the essential things that I need to survive and my faith in You allows me to have the peace to know that it will be done.  Thank You for caring for me as much as You do! I thank You for this day and for my life!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

