Today is the air I breathe

Posted: May 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Today is the air I breathe

The breath that I had yesterday was the breath needed for that day.  And, as much as I try, I can’t get the air back from yesterday.Augustus Toplady writes:

It’s kind of useless to try and live on yesterday’s breathing and it’s useless to relive yesterday’s mistakes or appropriate yesterday’s mercies.

The breathing I did yesterday will not keep me alive today–I must continue to breathe afresh every moment, or my life will cease.  In like manner, yesterday’s grace and spiritual strength must be renewed, and the Holy Spirit must continue to breathe on my soul from moment to moment in order that I may continue to enjoy Him and to work the works He has assigned me.  A fresh supply of air and mercies awaits us each day, supply that is needed only for today.”

Today, think about the new supply of air and mercy that God has given you for the moment and don’t continue to try and live on yesterday’s air, because you can’t get it back.

Quote of the day:  Mercy Me

“This is the air I breathe, Your Holy Presence, living in me.  And I’m desperate for you, I’m lost without you.”

Bible verse of the day:  Lamentations 3:22-23

“Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not.  They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for every breath that I am able to breathe.  Thank You for giving me a new slate every morning and for forgiving me of all the things that I have done in the past.  Just as I cannot breathe yesterday’s air, I cannot continue to live in yesterday.  Thank You for showing such great mercy to me and for loving me as much as You do.  I thank You for this day and for the breath in my lungs at this moment!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

