Roots Grown into God

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story and Quote of the day:  Roots grown into God

Neil Orchard writes:

I was talking with a farmer about his soybean and corn crops.  Rain had been abundant, and the results were evident.  So his comment surprised me:  “My crops are especially vulnerable.  Even a short drought could have a devastating effect.”

“Why?” I asked.

He explained that while we see the frequent rains as a benefit, during that time the plants are not required to push roots deeper in search of water.  The roots remain near the surface.  A drought would find the plants unprepared and quickly kill them.

Some Christians receive abundant “rains” of worship, fellowship, and teaching.  Yet when stress enters their lives, many suddenly abandon God or think him unfaithful.  Their roots have never pushed much below the surface.  Only roots grown deep into God (Col. 2:6-7) help us endure times of drought in our lives.

Bible verse of the day:  Colossians 2:6-7 (NIV)

“So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in Him, rooted and build up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray that the rains will come and as they come, I am planted deep within Your Word so that I am able to withstand any drought.  Father, I ask that You guide, protect and strengthen me.  I am continually thankful for this blessed day and for all the Love that You have to offer. 

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

