Prayer isn’t 3 wishes

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

photo from diszine.com

Story of the day: Prayer isn’t 3 wishes

When Jeff and I were dating, we went to many movies.  The first movie that we saw together was Aladdin, and to this day it is still one of our favorite movies.  There is a particular scene in this movie that got me to thinking about prayer and how so often we expect God to answer them when and how we want them answered.  The genie in the movie appears to Aladdin telling him that he “has never had a friend like me, and that he will grant Aladdin three wishes.”

So often we expect God to be like that genie.  We expect him to answer the prayer right away and if He doesn’t do it right away then we get frustrated, impatient, or start questioning why our prayer hasn’t been answered yet.  Does God not want to answer our prayers?  Of course He wants to answer them!!  He just might not do it the way that we expect Him to.  His way is so much better and it is exactly what we need and when we need it.

Do you lay in your bed and start sounding out prayers as if you are snapping your fingers and demanding God to answer them?  I always picture God just like me with my kids.  There is a point where demanding and no heartfelt asking just needs a little reminding that we don’t always get what we want and when we want it.  I can see God just standing there with His hands on His hips and saying, “Really, again with the same prayer?  Child, I love ya, but no, that’s not the way I am going to do it. Remember this is not Burger King and you can’t have it your way.”

And although the genie in Aladdin made it look so easy and when Aladdin asked for something, he got it right away, we have to remember that God doesn’t always work like that.  Now granted there have been times in my life where God has answered my prayers right away and I knew that they were straight from God, but they don’t always come the same way every time. It is God’s greatest desire to give you your heart’s desires, but He knows what is best for you, and possible lessons that might need to be learned from your waiting.  Let’s face it, if we always got what we wanted, then the times that God does answer our prayers, wouldn’t be remarkable or even a miracle.  And when they are answered we can say, “Thank You God, You are truly amazing and I know that was from You!!”

Quote of the day:  George Herbert

“O Thou has given us so much, mercifully grant us one thing more–a grateful heart.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 145:18,19

“He will fulfill the desire of them that fear him: he also will hear their cry, and will save them.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You that You are not like that genie in Aladdin.  Thank You that You answer my prayers when the time is right.  God You are truly Amazing and when my prayers are answered, it makes my walk with You that much sweeter.  There is an Orderly purpose by which You do things, and I will never know why, and I don’t have to know why, but I am grateful to You for it.  I pray that my heart is always grateful and that I don’t come to You like Aladdin does to the genie.  I pray to not have a haughty heart always wanting and never looking for other’s best interest at heart.  I pray to be a faithful servant, seeking Your Wisdom in all that I do, coming to You in prayer before moving forward with something, and always giving You the glory for the things that have come to pass.  I thank You for this day.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

 

Leave a Reply

