Set the Whole Thing Trembling

Posted: August 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

photo by Darlyne Murawski

Story of the day:  Set the Whole Thing Trembling

With God being as Great as He is, sometimes the things that we do may seem so small or lack making any sort of dent into this big world.  Vernon Grounds wrote about how he was tempted to

“sink into a mood of futility,” or ineffectiveness.  I think that we may all feel that way at one particular time or another.

Another great way of looking at this, comes from Frederick Buechener who wrote about something similar and how he compares it to a great spider web.  He wrote:

If you touch the web anywhere, you set the whole thing trembling…As we move around this world and as we act with kindness, perhaps, or with indifference, toward the people we meet, we too are setting the great spider web a-tremble.  The life that I touch for good or for ill will touch another life, and that in turn another, until who knows where the trembling stops or in what far place and time my touch will be felt.  Out lives are linked.  No man is an island.”

What a great way to look at what we think are “small deeds” and how those deeds can change lives.  We will really never know how many lives we will touch and in turn how many lives will be changed all for the Glory of God.  Instead of thinking that the things that we are doing may be ineffective, we should trust in God to know that even the “small deeds” will be used  and turned into Great Things for His Purpose.

Quote of the day:  Anonymous

“No deed is small when done for Christ.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 Corinthians 1:27

“But God has chosen the foolish things of the world to put to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to put to shame the things which are mighty;”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I am so grateful to You that You are able to use all of the things that I do, whether great or small, to accomplish Your purpose.  I pray that whatever it is that I am doing for You that I do it with a humbled heart in knowing that whatever it is, I will do it to the best of my ability.  Thank You for taking the small deeds in my life and showing me how great they are!  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

