Allowing Doubt to Take Over?

Posted: August 22, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day: Allowing Doubt to Take Over?

Sometimes in life things happen. Things out of our control, things we didn’t plan for, and these things can change our life in the blink of an eye.  So what does it mean to be destroyed? Being destroyed can come in many different forms. The dictionary definition is to tear down or break apart. If this happens, how then do we keep from becoming defeated and sulking with a negative mindset?

To become defeated is to let the enemy win by allowing frustration to set in, doubt to overtake us, and a defeated mindset to fester. Though it’s easy to fall into this mindset, we have choice to not let it affect us or defeat us. Knowing that I am a child of God, helps me to remember that I will not be defeated no matter what I go through.

In his Bible, an elderly minister carried a bookmark that was made of silk threads woven into a motto. The back of the bookmark was a tangled web of crossed threads that seemed to be without reason or purpose. When the minister visited a home or hospital room where there was great trouble, sorrow, or death, he would frequently show the bookmark, first presenting the reverse side with all its unintelligible tangle. When the distressed one had examined it intently without finding any meaning to the deeming disorder, the minister would ask him to turn the fabric over. Immediately, against a white silk background, there appeared a phrase in colored threads” “God Is Love.” That side made sense; it had order and meaning.

So it is in life. We may experience events that seem to be without explanation or meaning, like a maze of tangled threads. Sometimes these events could even destroy us, but when we are face to face with Christ and can view our life from eternity, we will see that every detail, good and bad, pleasant and unpleasant–was woven together to show us that indeed “God Is Love,” and knowing this can help to keep us from being defeated.

Quote of the day: Into Marvelous Light

“Sin has lost its power, death has lost its sting, from the grave you’ve risen victoriously. By the Cross you are the Truth, you are the Light, you are the Way.”

Bible verse of the day: Psalm 27:5 (NKJV)

“For in the time of trouble He shall hide me in His pavilion; in the secret place of His tabernacle He shall hide me; He shall set me high upon a rock.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for hiding me under Your wing during difficult circumstances. Because some things are out of my control and could destroy me, I rest in You and know because I am Your child, that I will not be defeated. The trials in my life will help me to lean upon You and trust in You for everything, regardless of whatever may happen. Thank You for teaching me how to see things from an eternal perspective instead of my own mindset. I love You and I am thankful for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen


Leave a Reply

