We are not perfect!

Posted: October 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  We are not perfect!

“God expects more failure from us than we do from ourselves because God knows who we are.  We are not the righteous person who occasionally sins, we are the sinful person who occasionally–by God’s grace–gets it right.  When we start from this perspective we are released from the bondage of perfectionism and are able to forgive ourselves once and for all.  We are to take our cue from him.  We may be disappointed with ourselves but God is not.  We may feel like condemning ourselves, but God does not.

Forgiving ourselves for our failures is a big task.  We expect so much.  Jesus’ disciples failed Him–but in every case the whole story had not yet been told.  There were many successes ahead for them–just as there are for you.  Lighten up on yourself.  God has called you to Himself.  You are loved by Him.  How can you belittle what God so loves?”  James Bryan Smith and Nick Harrison

Quote of the day:  James Long

“One reason God created time was so there would be a place to bury the failures of the past.”

Bible verse of the day:  Romans 8:2

“For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus has made me free from the law of sin and death.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father:

Thank You for releasing me from the bondage of perfectionism.  Thank You that the righteous requirement might be fulfilled in me who does not walk according to the flesh but according to the Spirit.  Thank You for the times that I don’t always get it right, and yet You still love me no matter what.  When I fall, You are quick to pick me up.  It’s just like a mother or father of a child who has fallen down, and You are still there encouraging me and showing me the way so that I might not fall again.  Thank You for loving me so much and creating me that I may share You with the world.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

