Great treasure is ahead

Posted: October 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story and Quote of the day:  Great treasure is ahead

When the great miracle of loaves had been wrought, Jesus sent his disciples to gather up the broken pieces, “that nothing may be lost.”  The Master is continually giving us the same command.  Every hour’s talk we have with a friend leaves fragments that we ought to gather up and keep to feed our heart’s hunger or the hunger of others’ hearts, as we go on.  When we hear good words spoken or read a good book, we should gather up the fragments of knowledge, the suggestions or helpful thoughts, the broken pieces, and fix them in our hearts for use in our lives.  We allow most of what we hear or read to turn to waste continually because we are poor listeners or do not try to keep what we hear.  We let the broken pieces be lost and thus lose out on great things.  If only we would gather up and keep all the good things that come to us through conversations and through reading, we would soon have great treasures of knowledge and wisdom.  J. R. Miller

Bible verse of the day:  John 6:12

“So when they were filled, He said to His disciples, “Gather up the fragments that remain, so that nothing is lost.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

It is my prayer today that I am a good listener to those around me.  I pray to have my heart’s hunger fed by my family and friends words of inspiration and love.  I ask that You continue to give me a teachable spirit willing to learn things that I have yet to learn and give You all the credit.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

