Cynicism

Posted: October 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Cynicism

I have often heard that to be a cynic means to always criticize things that you or others are doing even if you aren’t requesting it.  It is always looking for the negative in and searching for the worst, whether it be in people or situations.  If you are around a cynic for too long, you can start to take on attributes of the cynic as their negativity rubs off onto you. When dealing with a cynic you must turn the cheek and move past the situation. Cynics usually tend to be so negative just because they do not trust the integrity of others.

I look at Jesus’ life and all that He went through while here, and how many cynics he had to put up with, and yet He pressed on with the mission and endured to the Cross.  So often we feel a need to want to defend the situation, but to try and defend it to a cynic is nearly impossible.  So instead of arguing and wasting valuable time, I just move on and forward with the plan that God has set before me.  After a while, you just learn to take it with a grain of salt and with the realization that you just can’t please everyone.  And as long as I am pleasing God, that’s all that matters.

I have an interesting story and tell me if this situation sounds familiar.  “The story is told of an old man whose grandson rode a donkey while they were traveling from one city to another.  The man heard some people say, “Would you look at that old man suffering on his feet while that strong young boy is totally capable of walking.”

So then the old man rode the donkey while the boy walked.  And he heard some people say, “Would you look at that, a healthy man making the poor young boy suffer.  Can you believe it?”

So the man and the boy both rode the donkey, and they heard some people say, “would you look at those heavy brutes making that poor donkey suffer.”  So they both got off and walked, until they heard some people say, “Would you look at the waste-a perfectly good donkey not being used.”

Finally the scene shifts and we see the boy walking and the old man carrying the donkey.

No matter what you do, someone will always criticize it.”  I encourage you today, that if you are being criticized, turn the cheek, let it roll off your back, pray for that person and move forward with God’s purpose and will for your life.  In the long run, you will be better off for having done so.

Quote of the day:  Oliver Stone

“Cynicism has gone too far.  We are becoming what the history books tell us late Rome was like: mired in self-absorption and lacking virtue.”

Bible verse of the day:  John 14:1

“Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Cynicism is at times so harsh.  It can be discouraging if I allow the words of a cynic to pierce my heart.  Instead I lean upon You for every situation and turn my cheek just as You did.  God it is not enough for me to just turn my cheek, I need to remember the cynic in prayer and continue to love them the way that You love all.  Give me wisdom to know when to speak and when to just be quiet.  God, I know that not everyone will agree at all times with what I have to say, but I do know that when I write, I write for myself and if others are touched by it, then I have done what You have asked of me.  Thank You for giving me such an understanding heart and to try to see the good in others no matter what they have done.  I love what our Pastor said this weekend, “Jesus forgave at the cross for all the things that we will do and the things that we don’t even know we are doing.”  God, Your Son suffered greatly for us and endured all the cynicism that came about during His time here on earth and never lost focus of the plan that was set before Him.  And though He was tempted as we all are, he passed every single one of His tests.  I pray to pick up my cross everyday and walk in His likeness, doing the things that He has planned for me.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

