Sticks and Stones

Posted: December 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

Story of the day: Sticks and Stones

Remember the little poem, sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me?  Who are they kidding?  Words are so powerful and can have a very profound impact on us, so much so, that we begin to internalize the words that are said.

I have often heard it said, that it takes 100 positive things to make up for one negative thing that has been said.  And yet with all of these negative words that we may come across, how can we measure our self-worth in a positive light, regardless of how we were raised, what people may say, or what we might be thinking?

The Bible tells us in Genesis 1:27 that God created human beings in his image.

What better reason to feel positive about ourselves!  Criticizing ourselves or feeling unworthy insults God and His creation. David praised God in Psalm 139:13-17 for knowing him, loving him, and creating him with such care.  God deserves your praise for the way He created you. You hold the image of God–don’t downplay the worth you have in God’s eyes.

Our true worth comes from God, not other people’s opinions of us. God values and cares for us because we are his precious children. Because of our upbringing, circumstances or failures in life, many of us feel unwanted and worthless. Cutting remarks from others such as “You’re useless!” ring in our ears.  But God’s Word shouts the opposite.  You have value.  You count!  You are God’s special creation, made in his image. And that is filled with covenant promises, redemption, grace, mercy, forgiveness, salvation, and guidance. All this is provided for you because God loves you and treasures you.

Regardless of painful circumstances or hateful words, know that you have value. Don’t allow feelings of worthlessness to defeat you. Meditate on God’s Word. Think about the fact that God created you with special care and loves you as his own. Let these truths sink into your soul, then bask in his love and live as His special child.  [ 2000. Living Water for those who thirst. Tyndale House Publishers, p.185-186]

Quote of the day: Christy Povolish

“Sticks and stones may break my bones, but I won’t let words hurt me, because my Father created and saved me.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 139:14

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for creating me just as You did.  You perfectly created my inmost being and took such care as you knit me together.  Though words can be hurtful, I pray to let them roll off my back and to remember during those times that Your love covers all and that I find peace in knowing that I am so much more than negative words.  I am Your loving child, made in Your image, created to have fellowship with You.  I love You Father and I am so thankful for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

