Live it! (Part 1)

Posted: January 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

Story and Quote of the day:  Live it! (Part 1)

I read this great article the other day and I found it full of Truth, inspiration, and lots of love, showing how one can shine Jesus by Living it out.  Randy Alcorn tells the story of a fervent Christian named Quan.  He was unjustly thrown into jail for publicly proclaiming his faith in China.  He writes:

Quan whispered into the darkness words hidden in his heart.  “I know that my Redeemer lives and that in the end he will stand upon the earth.  And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh, I will see God.  I myself will see him with my own eyes-I, and not another.  How my heart yearns within me!”

The guard peered into Quan’s cell through the little barred window, which was two handbreadths across.  Long used to the darkness, Quan could see the contempt in his eyes.

“Stop smiling!” he yelled.

“I am not smiling,” Quan said.

“Yes, you are!” shouted the guard.  He rattled the door, but moved on to the next cell.

Suddenly, Li Quan stood and pressed his face against the bars. “Guard!” Quan called.  When he didn’t come, he called louder.  “Su Gan!”

The guard came back and rattled the door violently.  “Who told you my name?  Be silent or I will come in and make you silent!”

“Su Gan, sir, please, I have a request for you.”

“Unless you can pay me, I can nothing for your requests.”

“Can I do some labor for you?”

Quan saw in the jailer’s eyes surprise mixed with contempt.

“This prison is so filthy,” Quan said.  “There is waste everywhere.  The rats and roaches feed on it.  You are not a prisoner, but you must feel like you are.  Su Gan has to breathe this foul air, to walk carefully because of what oozes out of the cells.  Li Quan can help you.  Let me go into the cells one by one and clean up this filthy place.  Give me water and a brush and soap, and I will show you what I can do!  My father, Li Tong, was a street sweeper, a great cleaner of the ground.  The finest in China.  And I am my father’s son! [Alcorn, Rnady.  Safely Home.  Tyndale House, 2001. pgs. 273-274]

Quote of the day:  Mary Nordstrom

“It is our privilege to have world evangelism as a passion, not our responsibility to have as a burden.”

Bible verse of the day:  Titus 2:7 (NKJV)

“in all things showing yourself to be a pattern of good works; in doctrine showing integrity, reverence, incorruptibility,”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Oh to have a servant’s heart like Your Son Jesus.  I pray that my heart is full of love, compassion, and truth ministering to those around me.  Father, reach into my soul and fill it with Your mercy and grace that my life mirrors who You are and what You have done in my life.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

