Live it! (Part 2)

Posted: January 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  Live it! (Part 2)

So we finished off Live it out! (Part 1) where Quan was allowed to clean out the dirty cells of where he was being held.  It was here that Quan showed servanthood towards the guard and was willing to do even the medial tasks so that another could see Christ through him.  From this point on, several weeks have gone by in which Quan chooses to continue to serve the guard.  Notice how God was able to use his Christlike service to witness to those around him.

Ben stood in the chilly winter air.  As usual, he waited nervously, trying to keep warm and to will Quan out of the black hole, that would be his cell.  Someone was being led out of the building now, a frail, older man with a pronounced limp and yellow skin, as if he had jaundice.

Ben watched the man, who for some reason was walking toward him.  He felt his heart freeze. “Quan?”  He tried to disguise his horror.  They touched right index fingers through the fence.  “You smell like…..soap.”

“Yes.”  Quan beamed, his face and voice surprisingly animated.  “This is better than I smelled last time, yes?  I have wonderful news!  You must tell my family and house church.  God has answered prayer.  He has given me a ministry!”

“What?”

“I go from cell to cell, bringing Jesus’s message.”  But thought you were in an isolated cell.”

“God opened the door.  I go to the other men.  Most have never had anyone else come into their cell except to beat them.  I help and serve them as I clean their cells.  I bring them the love of Jesus.  Twelve men I have visited.  When I left their cells, six I did not leave alone.”

“What do you mean?”

“When I left, Jesus was with them.  Three were already believers, one of them a pastor.  He had known my father, Li Tong!  Three more bowed their knees to Jesus, who promises never to leave or forsake them.  When I walk by their cells on the way to clean the others, I sing to them, ‘Heaven is my fatherland.’ When I finish cleaning all the cells I will start over.

“The guards let you do this?”

“The smell that used to cling to the guards is almost gone.  Their shoes are not ruined.  The prisoners are excited to no longer be alone.  Excited to realize that even if they die here, they will have eternal life.  Excited that God has not forgotten them, that this world is not their home, that they will find release.”

“Sounds more like a revival meeting than a prison.”

“Those in prison are not so distracted as those outside.  They think about death more.  They ask, “Is this the day?”  They do not put so much hope in their plans and successes in this world.  I tell them about Jesus and Heaven, and they listen eagerly, much more intently than most free men I speak to in the locksmith’s shop.  (in Safely Home, by Randy Alcorn, Tyndale House, 2001, 276-277).

The story of Quan is a great picture of laying down one’s fleshly wants and to serve just as Christ did for others.  It was his serving that opened the door for sharing the truth of Christ.

Quote of the day:  Woodrow Wilson

I would rather fail in the cause that some day will triumph than triumph in a cause that some day will fail..”

Bible verse of the day:  Mark 10:45

“For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Thank You for teaching me all about having a servant’s heart.  It is through this story today that I am able to see just how important it is to die to my flesh and live with a humbled attitude.  I pray that my heart continues to soften each day and that the love for people continues to grow.  Father, I pray for those that don’t know Your Son, Jesus as their personal Lord and Savior.  I pray that they not rest until they do and that their life is forever changed.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

