“We were created to put our love to work”

Posted: January 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

Story of the day:  “We were created to put our love to work”

In The Pursuit of Excellence, Ted Engstrom writes:

I was cleaning out a desk drawer when I found a flashlight I hadn’t used in over a year.  I flipped the switch but wasn’t surprised when it gave no light.  I unscrewed it and shook it to get the batteries out, but they wouldn’t budge.

Finally, after some effort, they came loose.  What a mess!  Battery acid had corroded the entire inside of the flashlight.  The batteries were new when I’d put them in, and I’d stored them in a safe, warm place.  But there was once problem.  Those batteries weren’t made to be warm and comfortable.  They were designed to be turned on–to be used.

It’s the same with us.

Quote of the day:  Ted Engstrom

“We weren’t created to be warm, safe, and comfortable.  You and I were made to be “turned on”–to put our love to work, to apply our patience in difficult, trying situations–to let our light shine.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 Peter 4:10 (NIV)

“Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I pray that You light a fire under me each and every day so that I don’t get comfortable where I am.  May the bar in my life continue to be raised as I serve You.  I ask that You show me areas in my life where I have become complacent so that by Your Grace it can be changed.  I love You and thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a Reply

