March 2008

Spring Cleaning

water-lilies.jpg                                                                                                                                                                                       Story of the day: Spring Cleaning

    Spring is almost here and listening to the birds and feeling the warm sun on my face get’s me so excited to be outdoors once again. Yesterday was the first day in a while that it was warm out, and anytime that it is warm out, we try to take advantage of it, and so we began our Spring cleaning. The first place that we began to clean out was the garage. There were things in the garage that we needed to get rid of so that we wouldn’t be dragging them with us to Texas this summer. We have a refrigerator outside in the garage and just recently it had started acting up and the things that we would keep in the freezer, we had to move inside due to the fact that we didn’t know when it would freeze up, no pun intended, and stop working. We weren’t sure what was going on with it, we just knew it wasn’t working properly. Surrounding the fridge are many moving boxes that we just didn’t have space for inside the house. As I started moving boxes into the house to get ready to repack and fix up, I found a screw lying right behind the fridge. I am not an expert in fridge maintenance, but I am sure that the screw lying behind the fridge plays some significant role as to why it probably isn’t working. So many times in our life, something as small as a screw can become a defect in our life and keep us from working to our full potential. And just like the fridge, it might work every now and then, but one can’t count on it to completely do it’s job because something is missing.

    C.H. Spurgeon said it best in Lectures to My Students, “Only a small screw was gone, yet the absence of that insignificant piece of iron disarranged the whole. The analogy is perfect; a man in all other respects fitted to be useful may by some small defect be exceedingly hindered, or even rendered utterly useless in the ministry.”

    The question now becomes, Have you done any spring cleaning in your life and looked for that small but important piece that is hindering you from working to your full potential?

Quote of the day: George Cullum Sr.

“When the rock is hard, we get harder than the rock.

When the job is tough, we get tougher than the job.”

Bible verse of the day: 1 John 1:9

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I foremost want to give You thanks for a beautiful day! I know that Spring is just around the corner and the last couple of days have been great! The snow has melted and I can hear the birds outside my window once again. I look forward to many days outside and the sun shining down on us and warming us with it’s rays. Character is an important part of what makes up who we are. I pray that any defect that may be hindering me from doing Your will is exposed so that You can start to do a work in it and that it can be removed from my life. God, I don’t want anything to hold me back from doing what You have asked of me. Help me to search my heart and help me to do some Spring cleaning in my life.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen