March 2008

Temptation

Story of the day:  Temptation

    Temptation is a very strong word.  No one is exempt from it and yet the way we handle it can either lead to a blessing or to feelings of guilt.  Temptation can be as strong as stealing money from a bank or the pen that you pick up at the counter that you use to write the check.  How many of you have truly ever been tempted to steal a pen from the bank?  To some the temptation may not be as strong as some that are tempted to steal the money. I would have to guess that most have probably just taken the pen without the realization that it truly didn’t belong to you.  We weren’t tempted by the pen, we just needed it, or did we?  Did you recognize the two little angels on your shoulder, one saying, “they won’t miss that pen!”, and the other saying, “that’s not your pen, put it back!”  Something as little as a pen can be tempting to take.  So what do we do?  I have a story that illustrates temptation a little better.  Then you can answer that question for yourself the next time you are tempted.

    Mr. Swindoll writes: “Sometimes you get gifts in the strangest ways.  My friend, Ray Stedman, was ministering at a place back East.  One morning he was having breakfast alone.  There in front of him was a beautiful pewter salt and pepper set and a little creamer.  In a moment of weakness, he thought, “Now that would fit neatly in my suitcase.  I could take that home and this place would never miss it.”  Then the more he thought about it and the scandal he would create as a minister stealing these things, he thought, “I can’t do that.”

    So the next Sunday while he was preaching, he was on the subject of stealing and he admitted this to everyone.  He said, “I want you to know that even I can be tempted to do that.”

    The following Sunday morning, at his study there was a little package.  He unwrapped it to find a lovely pewter salt and pepper shaker and creamer.  Someone in the congregation heard this story and called back there and thought, “If he wants it that much, I’ll send it to him.”

    Next Sunday he told about receiving the gift and said, “I also noticed this lovely color television set.”  But, he added, “You know what? I didn’t get a television set.”

Quote of the day:  Augustine

“When tempted to plunge into the old life:  “Thou fool, dost not thou know that thou art carrying God around with thee.”

Bible verse of the day:  1 Corinthians 10: 12, 13

“Therefore let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall.  No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you may be able to bear it.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I believe what You say when You tell me that You are faithful and that I will not be tempted beyond what I am able.  You always give me a way out and for that I am grateful.  Just like the minister in the story, no one is exempt from temptation, and how I handle the situation whether by giving in to it, or by moving past it, determines if I pass the test or not.  Thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen