April 2009

The Short Cut

Story and Quote of the day:  The Short Cut

A short cut is a faster way to get from one point to another.  And sometimes taking short cuts puts us on a different path then what God intended for our life.  There is a story written by an unknown author that says:

When James A. Garfield, who afterwards became President of the United States, was president of Hiram College, in Ohio, a man brought his son for entrance as a student, for whom he desired a shorter course than the regular one.

“The boy will never take all that in,” the father said.  “He wants to get through by a shorter route.  Can you arrange it?”

“Oh, yes,” replied the president of Hiram College.  “I can arrange it.  You son can take the shorter course.  It all depends on what you want to make out of him.  When God wants to make an oak, he takes a hundred years-but when he wants to make a squash, he requires only two months.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 31:15 (NKJV)

“My times are in Your hand; deliver me from the hand of my enemies, and from those who persecute me.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

I have learned in my life that taking the short cut isn’t always the best way.  I miss out on things that You are trying to teach me.  Thank You for always taking the time to show me the value of taking my time and not always being in a hurry!  I love You Father and I am thankful for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen