April 2009

It’s what I desire most

Story and Quote of the day:  It’s what I desire most

James Bryan Smith was well known for telling the following story:

A man in a psychiatrist’s office was overheard saying, “Make me sure that there is a God of love and I shall go away a well man.”  His cry is the cry of all of us:  make us sure there is a God of love.  It’s what we desire most, even if we do not have words to express it.

One of the most difficult Christian doctrines to believe is the incredible value of human beings.  It is difficult for many of us to accept God’s love, to believe that God looks upon us and smiles.  It is hard, noted [poet] William Blake, to bear the beams of God’s love.  We must learn to bear them.  What we long to know is that we are loved.  To be more specific, we hunger to know that we are accepted as we are, forgiven for all we have done, and cared for by a gracious loving God.  When we know this we walk away well.

Bible verse of the day:  Jeremiah 31:3 (NKJV)

“The LORD has appeared of old to me, saying:  “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; Therefore with loving kindness I have drawn you.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Your Love is what I desire the most.  It fills my soul and overflows through me and into those surrounding me.  It is Your Love that teaches me and shows me how I want to be and live my life.  Your example of Love goes beyond all that I can imagine and brightens my day, everyday.  Thank You for loving me the way that You do and for showing me Your Love through Your Son.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen