March 2009

God is so patient with us, shouldn’t we be with others?

Story of the day:  God is so patient with us, shouldn’t we be with others?

     Dennis Miller writes:

     Out of parental concern and a desire to teach our young son responsibility, we require him to phone home when he arrives at his friend’s house a few blocks away.  He began to forget, however, as he grew more confident in his ability to get there without disaster befalling him.

     The first time he forgot, I called to be sure he had arrived.  We told him the next time it happened, he would have to come home.  A few days later, however, the telephone again lay silent, and I knew if he was going to learn, he would have to be punished.  But I did not want to punish him!  I went to the telephone, regretting that his great time would have to be spoiled by his lack of contact with his father.

     As I dialed, I prayed for wisdom.  “Treat him like I treat you,” the Lord seemed to say.  With that, as the telephone rang one time, I hung up.  A few seconds later the phone rang, and it was my son.  “I’m here, Dad!”

     “What took you so long to call?” I asked.

     “We started playing and I forgot.  But Dad, I heard the phone ring once, and I remembered.”

     “I’m glad you remembered,”  I said.  “Have fun.”

Quote of the day:  Craig Larson

“How often do we think of God as One who waits to punish us when we step out of line?  I wonder how often he rings just once, hoping we will phone home.”

Bible verse of the day:  James 1:4

“But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete lacking nothing.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Patience has so many different descriptive words.  There’s composure, enduring, calmness, stability, and so many more.  Father, I pray that You continue to build in me patience that goes beyond my understanding.  I pray to raise my children as You have shown me through Your Word with great patience.

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen