September 2009

You will meet many people

Story of the day:  You will meet many people

In Guideposts Joann C. Jones writes:

During my second year of nursing school our professor gave us a pop quiz.  I breezed through the questions until I read the last one:  “What is the name of the woman who cleans the school?” 

Surely this was some kind of joke.  I had seen the cleaning woman several times, but how would I know her name?  I handed in my paper, leaving the last question blank.

Before the class ended, one student asked if the last question would count toward our grade.  “Absolutely,” the professor said.  “In your careers you will meet many people.  All are significant.  They deserve your attention and care, even if all you do is smile and say hello.”

I’ve never forgotten that lesson.  I also learned her name was Dorothy.                                                          [Joann C. Jones, Guideposts; as seen in Reader’s Digest, August 1996, 147-148.]

Quote of the day:  Craig Larson
“We have not begun to show the love of Christ to others until we have treated them with respect.”

Bible verse of the day:  Philippians 2:3 (NIV)

“Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Today as I head out into my day, may I come across people who I may serve.  Humble my spirit Father that I may become more like You.  May my words be used to glorify Your name and to share You with the world.  I thank You for people and for their gifts that You have blessed them with.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I  pray,

Amen