March 2008

There’s no hurry?

dsc00744.jpg                                                                                                                                                                                        Story of the day:  There’s no hurry?

    Time.  Now here is a word that we talk about everyday in one fashion or the other.  It is a constant reminder of life, from the time we are born to the time we die.  It plays out in our homes, our cars, our jobs.  Yet, it is something that we can’t ever seem to get enough of.  So, how do you use your time?  Is it planned or are the seconds being wasted away as the day goes on?

    Here is a little legend that I found written by C.S. Lewis “about Satan and his imps planning their strategy for attacking the world that’s hearing the message of salvation.  One of the demons says, “I’ve got the plan, master.  When I get to earth and take charge of people’s thinking,  I’ll tell them there’s no Heaven.”

    The devil responds, “Ah, they’ll never believe that.  This Book of Truth is full of messages about the hope of Heaven through sins forgiven.  They won’t believe that.  They know there’s a glory yet future.”

    On the other side of the room another says, “I’ve got the plan.  I’ll tell ’em there’s no hell.”

    “No good,” he says. “Jesus while He was on earth, talked more of hell than of Heaven.  They know in their hearts that their wrong will have to be taken care of in some way.  They deserve nothing more than hell.”

    And one brilliant little imp in the back stood up and said, “Then I know the answer.  I’ll just tell them there’s no hurry.”  And he’s the one Satan chose.”

Quote of the day:  Frank Laubach

“I have this minute in my control.  It is all I really do have to work with.  It is as magnificent or drab or vile as the thoughts which fill it.  I fear our most common sin is empty minutes.”

Bible verse of the day:  Psalm 32:8

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with my eye.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

We can get so focused on time, or get into such a hurry that we lose sight of why we are truly here.  How I use my minutes daily is very important.  God, my biggest thing is that we are not guaranteed our next minute.  It’s all we have.  I guess that’s why I live my life everyday as if it were my last day.  I treasure the time that You have given me Lord and I pray that I don’t use it by letting it waste away.  I pray that You give me love to give to others, rest when I am tired, strength to overcome obstacles, knowledge from Your Word, and perseverance to do what You have called me to do, at the time You have called me to do it.  I thank You for this day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

4 thoughts on “There’s no hurry?”

  1. Just wanted to say Hi and that I love Quote of the day. It is awesome to hear a word from the Father from a friend.

  2. Hey Tommy,

    How are you all doing in Texas? We hope the weather is great!! We are still freezing up here, but hope that warm weather is around the corner. Thanks for the comment today!

    Christy:)

  3. Where did you find the C. S. Lewis legend with “I’ll just tell them there’s no hurry”?

Leave a comment