September 2009

I seek a full life

Story and Quote of the day:  I seek a full life

Jim Elliott writes:

Saturate me with the oil of the Spirit that I may be a flame.  But flame is often short-lived.  Canst thou bear this, my soul?  Short life?  In me there dwells the Spirit of the Great Short-lived, whose zeal for God’s hose consumed him.  “Make me thy fuel, Flame of God…”

I pray Thee, light these idle sticks of my life and may I burn up for Thee.  Consume my life, my God, for it is Thine.  I seek not a long life but a full one, like You, Lord Jesus. [Shadow of the Almighty:  The Life and Testament of Jim Elliot.]

Bible verse of the day:  Isaiah 10:17 (NKJV)

“So the Light of Israel will be for a fire, and his Holy One for a flame; It will burn and devour His thorns and his briers in one day.”

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father,

Consume my life and light any idle sticks that may be pushed to the back that I may become the flame that You created and that continues to burn each and every day that I am alive.  I pray to live as Jim Eliott said, a full life, serving and loving You.  I thank You for this blessed day!

In Jesus Name I pray,

Amen

Leave a comment